On Hiatus – Still – Till Next Week

You’ve probably noticed my absence since the middle of December.  Nope, I haven’t abandoned you, this blog, or my cooking.  Well, actually, the last one’s a bit of a lie.  Right after final exams, I booked it down to Florida (the only state in the country without snow right now) for winter vacation, maximizing my time in the Sunshine State.  Guess who else lives in this state?  My mother.  Guess who is the best chef of all time?  Yep.  My mother.  I’ve been eating and eating and scribbling down recipes and taking notes while she cooks and watching and breathing in the delicious scents and overall… neglected my readers.

I apologize.

In the form of an apology, one of my best friends, Karen, guest blogged last Saturday with an amazing recipe for Sweet Cherry Pie.  Now, if you don’t like cherry pie, well… you’re strange.  I’ve had the privilege of eating Karen’s cooking and desserts, and let me tell you… they are divine.  Lucky for you, she’s snowed in in her parents house on the South Shore of Massachusetts, and provided they don’t lose power, she’ll have some more delicious recipes and interesting tidbits of history for you all soon.

Meanwhile, here’s what I’ve been up to all break:

1. Applications for graduate school for International Relations at 5 prestigious schools.  They are LONG.

2. Hanging out with my family, friends and books.

3. A 5-day vacation to Orlando, Universal Studios, Epcot, Hollywood Studios, Magic Kingdom, and Islands of Adventure: The Wizarding World of Harry Potter with some of the most special people in my life.

So mostly, I’ve been reading. My goal is 50 books this year, as it is every year, and the last time I reached that was 2008.  In the meantime, I’m compiling my reading for this year, so please please hit me with any and all suggestions you have!  I love all genres (mostly) so don’t hesitate.  Time to ramp up the intellectual stimuli!

Ready, set, go!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristie Buyea on January 12, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    You remember me from the Hospital, right? Well, here is a hilarious book series for you.

    It’s called ‘The Color of Magic’ b Terry Pratchett. He’s a very famous Sci-Fi/Fantasy author. You’ll love how hilarious they are. He pretty much satirizes everything from religion to Pop culture. It’s a good read.

    Also, if you like Historical fiction, Pick up the ‘Red Queen’ and the ‘White Queen’ by Phillipa Gregory. Those two made me bawl like a baby.

    Cheers~

    Reply

    • Posted by Vieshnavi on January 12, 2011 at 6:41 pm

      Of course I remember you! P.S. Luc is ADORABLE!

      I’ve read every Terry Pratchett novel I’ve been able to get my hands on, starting with The Colour of Magic 3 years ago and I think there’s 3 or so left for me to tackle. However, I will definitely look up Red Queen & White Queen! Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

