Veggie Stir-Fry

I finally found vegetarian stir-fry sauce!  Most stir-fry sauces contain fish extract.  While I’m aware that many of my multivitamins and vitamin supplements probably also contain fish extract, I’ve been turned off by the label on stir-fry bottles that bring this ingredient to my attention.  Because I found the stir-fry sauce, I decided to make vegetable stir-fry with rice noodles for dinner.  I’ve been experimenting with stir-fry combinations, trying to find the perfect mix of vegetables.  I have yet to find this magical concoction, but perhaps that’s just as well.  I secretly like that the stir-fry is a little different every time.

Veggie Stir-Fry Recipe [Feeds 8]

  • 1 bag of frozen stir-fry vegetables (12 oz.)
  • Half a medium-sized onion, sliced in half circles
  • 4 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 can of cut baby corn, strained
  • 1 can of water chestnuts, strained
  • 2 boxes of pad thai rice noodles (plain)
  • Olive oil
  • Vegetarian Stir-Fry Sauce
  • La Choy crunchy noodles
  • Chili Garlic Red Spicy Sauce

I sauteed the garlic and onions in olive oil until the garlic started to turn golden brown, then added the rest of the veggies to the saute pan.  I sauteed everything for about 5 minutes or so, until the vegetables were cooked al-dente.  At this point, a little water from the veggies had accumulated in the saute pan, so I carefully poured out most of the water and then added stir-fry sauce until all the veggies were covered.

I put water to boil in a large saucepan, and then boiled the rice noodles until they were tender.  I strained the rice noodles, rinsed them a little and then added them to the saute pan.  I mixed everything together carefully and let it cook for a couple more minutes.

Served hot with a spoonful of Chili Garlic sauce (be careful, this sauce is spicy!), with crunchy noodles on the side, the dish was a hit!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Christina on October 19, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    YAY!!! Vegetarians will slowly overrun the market some day (i hope). 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

